06 March 2009

British Press Awards Shortlist Unveiled

The coveted titles of website and digital journalist of the year are again up for grabs as the British Press Awards reveals this year’s shortlist.

Celebrating the best in British Journalism, the Press Gazette British Press Awards are a popular fixture of the industry calendar and six online journalists will be especially looking forward to it this year.

These are the shortlisted nominees for the Digital Journalist of the Year award, and they are:

Daniel Finkelstein – author of the Comment Central blog on Times Online.

Ruth Gledhill – Times Online religious correspondent and author of the Articles of Faith blog.

Dave Hill – writer and blogger at Guardian.co.uk.

Darren Lewis – sports writer and presenter of the Football Spy video on Mirror.co.uk.

Paul Murphy – one of the writers behind the FT’s Alphaville blog.

John O’Mahony – writes travel pieces for Guardian.co.uk.

And here is the shortlist for the Website of the Year award:

Times Online

Bob Satchwell, chairman of judges, told Press Gazette that the quality of online content is now attracting global audiences.

“New readers are being won over from around the world, getting the news from all the different platforms newspapers are providing.

“This is because of the amazing talents, skill and dedication of displayed by the British journalists shortlisted for these awards.”

Hosted by Channel 4 News anchorman Jon Snow, the awards ceremony will be held at the end of the month in London.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Subscribe to JP Digital Digest by Email Add to Technorati Favorites